June 15, 2015

Nominate Your City for the 2016 Sustainable Transport Award

(L to R) Laudemar Aguiar, Mayor Lacercda, and Ciro Biderman accepted the Awards. Above, they are joined by Holger Dalkmann (EMBARQ), Jose Luis Irigoyen (World Bank), Bernardo Baranda (ITDP Latin America), Michael Kodransky (ITDP) and Timothy Papandreou.
Representatives from the winning cities in 2015

It’s that time of year again! ITDP invites sustainable transport advocates to nominate your (or any other) city for the 11th Annual Sustainable Transport Award. Nominations are now open and will be accepted online at staward.org until September 11, 2015.

Previous winners implemented many projects that have improved livability, mobility, and quality of life for its citizens. In 2015, São Paulo was one of three Brazilian cities to receive the award for adding a network of cycle lanes to its downtown, revitalizing the area and making it safer for cyclists. In addition, it became the first megacity to implement citywide parking reform by replacing parking minimums with parking maximums. The 2014 winner, the city of Buenos Aires, Argentina, redesigned the iconic 9th de Julio avenue with bus-only lanes for a high-quality bus rapid transit (BRT) system, including 17 stations along the median accommodating 11 bus lines.

São Paulo, Brazil implemented new cycle lanes in 2015.
São Paulo Brazil implemented new cycle lanes in 2015

Since 2005, the Sustainable Transport Award has recognized profound leadership and vision in sustainable transportation and urban livability. The award is presented to a city each January for achievements in the preceding year. Nominations are accepted from any interested parties, including government, civil society organizations, and academic institutions. Nominations must include verifiable project data and contact information for the city.

The award is given each year to a city that has implemented innovative transport strategies in the preceding year. These strategies should improve mobility for all residents, reduce transportation greenhouse and air pollution emissions, and enhance safety and access for bicyclists and pedestrians.

The 2016 winner will be announced at an evening reception during the Transport Research Board’s Annual Conference in January 2016 in Washington, DC. Finalists will be notified by November 1. A Committee that includes the most respected experts and organizations working internationally on sustainable transportation select the finalists and winner.

Visit the STA website for more information and to nominate your city!

Sponsored by:





Sign up for updates on our projects, events and publications.

Send this to a friend