November 19, 2013

Announcing the 2014 Sustainable Transport Award Finalists


ITDP, together with the Sustainable Transport Award Committee, is announcing four city finalists for the 2014 Sustainable Transport Award (STA): Buenos Aires, Argentina; Indore, India; Lanzhou, China; and Suwon, South Korea. 

The finalists will be honored at a reception at the Washington Hilton International Ballroom on January 14, 2014, during the Transport Research Board annual conference in Washington, DC. If you would like to attend the STA ceremony click here to RSVP

In 2013, Buenos Aires implemented two new Metrobus corridors, Metrobus Sur and 9 de Julio, and transformed the city center into a pedestrian-friendly environment, encouraging walking and cycling. Indore launched iBus, the second true BRT corridor in India, and continues to fight to keep cars out of the designated bus lane. Lanzhou implemented the second-highest capacity BRT in Asia, and included several transit-oriented development reforms as part of this project. Fresh from hosing the ecoMobility World Festival, Suwon is making some changes permanent, such as wider sidewalks, cycle lanes, and bike rental stations.

Since 2005, the STA has been given to annually to a city that has implemented innovative and sustainable transportation projects in the past year. These strategies must improve mobility for all residents, reduce transportation greenhouse and air pollution emissions, as well as improve safety and access for cyclists and pedestrians.

Past winners of the Sustainable Transport Award include:  Mexico City, Mexico (2013); Medellin, Colombia and San Francisco, United States (2012); Guangzhou, China (2011); Ahmedabad, India (2010); New York City, USA (2009); London, UK (2008); Paris, France (2008); Guayaquil, Ecuador (2007); Seoul, South Korea (2006), and Bogotá, Colombia (2005).

For more information about the STA, visit


Sign up for updates on our projects, events and publications.

Send this to a friend